First Impressions

I know this is going to sound silly, because who takes Second Life so seriously, but I have a blogging resume, and I think all bloggers should have one, too!

Surprisingly enough, I got someone who agrees with me; one of the many anonymous designers that filled out my questionnaire for my previous post. They said that “a good introduction notecard is important for a first impression”, and I’m gunna help you build one!

—–

Introduction

resume

The first lines are very important. Explain why you’re taking the time to send them a notecard, and what your blog is. What do you blog, and why is this important and what do you have to offer?

Feeds and Links

resume 2

Every designer said that you need to be attached to feeds, so make sure to list every one you’ve got your link on. I’ve also included whether or not I’ve been invited, or submitted myself. To me, it shows initiative by submitting, and prowess by being invited.

Social Media

resume 3

Don’t underestimate the appeal of social media. Just like above, it shows initiative and ambition because you’re attempting to reach readers via any medium you can. Don’t just list the platforms, give direct links to your profiles, too!

Pertinent Information

resume 4

List any other pertinent information, such as things you do in SL that relate to your blogging. This would also be a good area to list what events you’ve been an official blogger for. For each event, list the year, such as Hair Fair 2011, Hair Fair 2012, and so on.

I know you’re probably thinking ‘dozens of bloggers got invited’ but those dozens of bloggers don’t tell the designers they want to work for.

Conclusion

resume 5

This is where you give your blog link. By putting it at the end, you’re basically forcing them to read everything, instead of passing judgment by looking at your blog without knowing about it.

Also give your username. No display name, and no fancy characters. Make it easy for them to find you in search.

—–

Aside from that, the designer that put this idea in my head also said that you should list how long you’ve been blogging, and even provide links to some posts about their items you’ve done in the past.

8 thoughts on “First Impressions

  1. I don’t really blog to have sponsors, but this is a wonderful idea. I might just do this. We never know what might happen in the future. I really like how informative your blogs are. Thank you :)

  2. I think it’s important to add something personal to the brand in the beginning, to make it seem less generic. For example: Hi, (brand creator’s name). I’d really love to receive blogger copies/be added to the blog group for (brand). I really love (something about brand/a specific item from brand/etc…). Taking the time to do this makes a big difference and shows you aren’t just mass sending your resume to any creator.

  3. Reblogged this on Isoldel's SL Blog and commented:
    For SecondLife models, blogging is a huge aspect of a modeling career. Getting started can be one of the hardest things to do since most designers would rather work with established bloggers. This nifty blog post can help kick start your blogging by showing you how to create a professional looking notecard to send to designers.

  4. I agree that you should keep all information of your work. I have something similar to this but have never thought to share the full document…I just use it to copy and paste neede information. Excellent post.

  5. Pingback: Blogging Etiquette: To send or not | [SL] Blogger Support

  6. I think that if you apply as blogger or wish for review copies from a store that you already have blogged before (which raises the chances to get onto a blogger list with some designers), It also cannot hurt to include links to the posts, where you did. It shows that you 1. really like their stuff without trying to grab only free copies and 2. with searching for the links and putting them in, the notecard has a less generic feel.

Leave a Reply

