The show goes on…

Yesterday, I made the announcement that I would be stepping down from the [SL] Blogger Support and handing over the reigns to Caitlin and the rest of the team. This decision did not come lightly, since this group had been a part of my life for over four years. For the past year or so, I have barely blogged, due to RL and other obligations, but I have still watched as the group has grown and flourished.

When the group first came to fruition, it was a gamble. The blogger community was large, but not as large as it is now. I had been following the shirt tales of bloggers such as Strawberry Singh, Gorgeous Yongho, Harlow Heslop, and others to name a few. I was a newbie to blogging as well when this group started, still getting my feet wet and learning all the different ways on how to maneuver myself in this community. Second Life is a large and thriving, complex and diverse atmosphere that is in constant change. Events come and go, stores close, new stores open. People change, who is hot one day is no longer a month later. One mis-step in this world, you can be cast off, or escalated into notoriety.

The group was meant to be a place where bloggers and designers could come together to talk about writing, photography, shopping and tutorials. As the group started to grow and move forward, we emphasized challenges, encouraged new sims, new stores and brought a chance for designers and events to search for amazing bloggers. We expanded into social media: Facebook, Plurk, Flickr, etc. We have had contributors to write blogs on the website, team members in the group to moderate and help. We’ve had lively discussions on what is correct, or not correct, and even there has been squabbles.

Another thing that the support group stepped into was a chance for events to utilize the group for advance blogger days. A chance for bloggers to shop early at events, as long as rules were applied and everything was respected. I have enjoyed allowing this feature to happen, but at the same time I am saddened by it. The group is a place for bloggers to learn, and come together, not to gain access to events. I don’t want to go on a soapbox, but if this is what this has become, then I believe we have lost sight on what blogging and shopping used to be. I do believe the community is better than that.

But enough about that – Thank you to all that have made this group amazing and great, and have built this world into an ever-evolving life.

With love,

Katya

 

12 Comments on “The show goes on…

  1. Thank you for starting this group. I’m glad you had thought to! I’ve learned mostly from the blog posts. And it has been helpful to have the resources and tutorials. I hope you have more time to do the things you enjoy most.

  2. Thank you for all your hard work and getting this group started. I always felt lost on where to find places, things and just ask questions. This group has always been there for me. Enjoy you New freetime.

  3. I’m so thankful for blog support. I’ve learned so many things and I still have so many things to learn. I’m sorry to see you go, but I’m so incredibly thankful for the work, dedication, and time you gave this group. I know at times it seems like early access becomes a goal for some.Then, there are people like me. I don’t always use early access. There is something about shopping with other residents and seeing their avatars–and reading their profiles. It’s nice. Dare I say….maybe even a part of my own sl experience. Any way, I hope you do something fabulous, wonderful, fun, and even exciting things in RL. I wish you well in all worlds.

  4. Thank you for the many years, I came and went with ease over those years, always welcomed back with kindness (group limits and what not) once the big 60 hit I was in for good. I appreciate all that you have done, as I know do many. Good luck with the future you in SL and RL.

    xoxoSasyxoxo

  5. Pingback: Thank you Katya! | SL Blogger Support

  6. Pingback: Ketchup or…Watskeburt!? | Cait's World

  7. Pingback: Not fixing what ain’t broken! | SL Blogger Support

  8. I have been a member since I started blogging and without the help and support of the SL Blogger Support group I would not have found my way as quickly or as resourcefully as I did, and, I thank you all for that nearly 3 years ago. I do not personally go to many of the early access events because, to me, the event is about the feel of it when it opens and the people shopping also now many groups are offering it within their own ranks , so its a bit of a free for all and that does not make me want to go. I like to go with my guy and take my time, enjoy the atmosphere and everything being open too. This of course is my own opinion and I shall, and we shall miss you Katya and I look forward to you still being around and being your happier self now. I find you know if it was time and you did the right thing for you. Big hugs and huge thank you’s and ENJOY your second life to the full ♥

Leave a comment